Happy New Year

What better time than New Year’s Eve to dust off a dormant blog and get started again, the day when we close the door on one year and open another onto a fresh, clean landscape full of possibilities. Usually, about now I am making a long list of resolutions, which I mean to keep and know I will not.

Well, I am bored with that and bored too of quite a lot of things in my life. So, here are five resolutions that I intend to keep.

Five resolutions for 2012

1. I shall set myself realistic gardening targets and stick to them to the very best of my ability. And I shall enjoy my successes and accept my failures and (as someone once said) treat these two impostors just the same.

2. I shall start writing again. At the very least that means blogging regularly and keeping a diary. Beyond that who knows. Not me, yet.

3. By this time next year I shall speak Italian, if not fluently, then very well. I love Italy and the Italian language. What is the point of a passion if you leave it to go cold?

4. I shall reduce the amount of non-recyclable packacking that passes through my hands. This, of course, means mostly plastic and I can see that it will mean changing many of my purchasing habits. I shall blog about it during the year.

5. I shall live the coming year as if it is my last. If at the end of 2012 I am still here I shall live 2013 the same way. As Tracy Chapman sang ‘ If not today, then when?’. I shall be 65 years old in a few days time. Time is running out and I have so much still to do.

So, there you have it, my 2012. I wish you all a very happy, peaceful new year and look forward to sharing mine with you through this blog.

5 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. patientgardener

    Well they seem very good resolutions to me. I shall say Happy Birthday now just in case I miss it!

    and Happy New Year too

  2. Like Helen David and I wish you all the best for your birthday and your resolutions are good i might try one or two of them myself

  3. Bonne année, Gill, from one dormant blogger to another … You sound like you’re at a change point. Bring it on!
    Oh, and happy birthday for when it happens …

  4. By the way, I meant to say (before I got click-finger trigger problems) I only stumbled upon the fact that you’d started blogging again because I was checking out all the blogs on the Ariege Network to see if they were still alive! Weird, huh?

Leave a Reply

